(unknown- 520s BCE)
Tomyris of the Massagetae was a queen who took command of the nomadic Massagetae people after her husband, an unnamed king of the Massagetae, died. The Massagetae were a nomadic tribe that resided in modern-day Iran and fell under the wider category of Scythian peoples. Tomyris is known for her defeat and beheading of the Persian king Cyrus the Great following his responsibility for the loss of her troops and the death of her son. She ruled in the Archaic period (700-500 BCE).
6th-4th century B.C.
Scythian period 7th century BCE
1. FINE ANCIENT BATTLE AXE SAGARIS, ca. 6th-4th century BC, Scythian, Iron, H. 6 1/4 in. (15.875 cm), Blue Lake Auction
2. Sekirica, Scythian period 7th century BCE. gold, iron,
The Sagaris was a type of battle-axe widely employed by members of many Scythian cultures, including the Massagetae. They were typically made from copper or bronze and had a long shaft and metal head, with one end resembling a sharp ice pick and the other varying from sharp and axe-like to blunt and hammer-like. Unfortunately, the long shaft is missing from most of the recovered sagaris, including the provided image, but its reach would have proved indispensable to the warriors on horseback.
Boris A. Litvinsky, “BATTLE AXES in Eastern Iran,” Encyclopædia Iranica, Encyclopædia Iranica Foundation, April 15, 2010,https://www.iranicaonline.org/articles/battle-axes
https://oldeuropeanculture.blogspot.com/2022/06/sekrica.html
3rd-1st century B.C.
Scythian Wood Bow with Quiver and Arrows, ca. 3rd-1st century BC, Scythian, Bamboo, Leather, Wood, L. 93.1 cm, Art market, prior to 2002, Ex- US private collection, prior to 2002, 17047, Phoenix Ancient Art,
The Scythian bow was used by the Scythian peoples, the larger classification of people to which the Massagetae belonged. Made of wood, glue, sinew, and horn, these bow’s comparatively short stature made them ideal for the horseback fighting that the Massagetae preferred. The ends of the bow curved back, the bows fired with considerably more force than other bows of the time. This bow is intended primarily for the cavalry.
Bede Dwyer, “SCYTHIAN-STYLE BOWS DISCOVERED IN XINJIANG, Asian Traditional Research Network, March 19, 2004
https://phoenixancientart.com/work-of-art/scythian-wood-bow-with-quiver-and-arrows/
Patrick Scott Smith, “Scythian Warfare,” World History Encyclopedia, World History Publishing, February 21, 2022, https://www.worldhistory.org/Scythian_Warfare/
8th-6th century BCE
Gold Sheath for a dagger with turquoise and lapis lazuli, 8th-6th century BCE, Kazakhstan, gold, turquoise, lapis lazuli, Eleke Sazy burial complex,
The sheath is gold with intricate details that include turquoise and lapis lazuli. This weapon with its sheath would be meant for royals or people of high status.
https://www.apollo-magazine.com/saka-gold-fitzwilliam-museum/.
Rüdiger Schmitt, “MASSAGETAE,” Encyclopedia Iranica, 2018, https://www.iranicaonline.org/articles/massagetae.
late 19th century
Dagger with blade and handle, late 19th century, Iron, Metal wire, wood, Brooklyn Museum,
The dagger itself would be iron held by a sheath that is gold with intricate details that include turquoise and lapis lazuli. The function of the dagger is to stab people at close range.
8th-3rd century B.C.
Scale Armor, ca. 8th century to 3rd century BC., Subeixi or Scythian, Leather, Pigments, H. 27 3/4 in. (70.5 cm); W. at shoulders 15 3/4 in. (40 cm), Purchase, Arthur Ochs Sulzberger Gift, 2000, 2000.66a–c, The Metropolitan Museum of Art,
In addition to copper and bronze, gold was also widely used in Scythian goods, especially in adornment. As Herodotus writes, ”they employ gold as ornament: and in like manner as regards their horses, they put breast-plates of bronze about their chests, but on their bridles and bits and cheek-pieces they employ gold”. Scythians were specialists in scale armor.
https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/26565
Herodotus, The History of Herodotus, (London and New York: Macmillan, 1890) 1.215,
https://www.gutenberg.org/files/2707/2707-h/2707-h.htm#link2H_4_0004
Patrick Scott Smith, “Scythian Warfare,” World History Encyclopedia, World History Publishing, February 21, 2022, https://www.worldhistory.org/Scythian_Warfare/
6th century B.C.
Published / Exhibited Scythian Bronze Helmet - Kuban, ca. 6th century BC, Scythian, Bronze, 7.1" W x 7.5" H (18 cm x 19 cm), private East Coast, USA collection; ex-German private collection, 1980s; ex-Texas, USA private collection, 1990s-2000s; Exhibited in "Dressed to Kill in Love and War: Splendor in the Ancient World", February 1 - March 31, 2019, Academy Art Museum, Maryland, USA, published in the exhibition guide by Sarah E. Cox and Anke Van Wagenberg, fig. 5. Artemis Gallery,
Though scale armor was widely used in Scythian armor, including breastplates, shields, and helmets, it was not the only type of armor the Scythians utilized. “Over time, Scythian warfare also utilized full metal helmets of the Kuban and Corinthian types.” In specific, the Kuban variety of helmets “were in use among the Scythians of Central Asia and the northern Black Sea.”.
Artemis Gallery, “Published/Exhibited Scythian Bronze Helmet - Kuban,” Bidsquare, Bidsquare Inc., accessed July 27, 2024, https://www.bidsquare.com/online-auctions/artemis-gallery/published-exhibited-scythian-bronze-helmet---kuban-1500257
400-200 B.C.
"The Golden Warrior Cataphract-style Armor”, ca. 400-200BC, Fabric & gold
The headdress is large and very pointy with a lot of golden decals. It features a red fabric that goes around the back of the head and covers the top of the head. Its function was to not only protect the head but the flaps on the back of the head could protect the user from sun.
Antonio Delisa, “Saka,” NUOVA STORIA CULTURALE E VISUALE – NEW CULTURAL AND VISUAL HISTORY,2022, https://storiografia.me/2022/04/26/saka/.
400 B.C.
“Golden Man/Golden Princess”, 400 BC, Red Fabric, gold,
A protective jacket for the arms and torso. It’s a red fabric with gold coated pieces arranged in a design-like way. The function of this is to protect the torso which is useful in combat against swords.
https://alchetron.com/Issyk-kurgan#issyk-kurgan-8443827c-8e08-45ac-9495-7a327076fa8-resize-750.jpeg
“Medieval Gambeson,” Medieval Britain, accessed on July 24th 2024, https://medievalbritain.com/type/medieval-life/clothing/medieval-gambeson/.
CONTACT US:
Library Email: library@rmcad.edu | Student Learning Center Email: learning@rmcad.edu
