Triboro News

If you haven't ever explored our Library Guides, you might not know all that we offer. 

For example, check out our College 101 guide.

We also have a guide about critical thinking and another one about media literacy. 

And Dr. Black's Warrior Queens class has been building a guide about weapons and armor.

We have a guide for Art History: Theories and Methods that covers starting points for the theories you learn. 

We have a guide for professional practice that includes business information. 

If you could make a guide, what would you make?

As you are finishing up this term, and getting your bibliographies and citations in order, you might wonder why we cite, and also why we cite in different styles. 

The reason why we might use one style over another is often determined by the field in which we are working. Purdue OWL breaks it down this way:

MLA (Modern language Association) emphasizes Authorship, so authors are very important.

APA (American Psychological Association) emphasizes date. Since publication date is important in the social sciences, APA Style is more likely to be used. 

CMOS (Chicago Manual of Style) emphasizes source origin. History and art history are concerned greatly with source, so footnotes and detailed references lists are preferred. 

There are a lot of other reasons why we might use one over another. APA tries to reduce bias, for example, so first initials, instead of names are included in references. CMOS has a much more robust way of including images, which makes is preferable in art history. We don't use MLA much at RMCAD, because we teach fewer literature classes where it would be used. 

One of the big differences between APA and CMOS is the way citations are built within the paper itself. They both use final bibliographies or references lists, but within the paper, APA uses in-text citations while CMOS uses footnotes. from the description above, you can probably figure out why. APA is concernced about dates so a citation to Purdue OWL (2018) is sufficient as it points to the item in the reference list. CMOS wants a more complete source, which the footnote will provide. 

I hope this helps clear things up. 

As always, make an appointment with the SLC if you need help finalizing those citations!

Okay! it is week five and you are staring down the last few weeks of the term. There is still a lot to do. How are you going to organize what you need to get done?

Here are some resources from the SLC to help you with time management and organization:

First, check out our tipsheet on Time Management! There you will find tips on breaking down assignments and using timers to help you set goals. 

If you are writing a paper, you might find our tipsheet on Graphic Organizers helpful. If you are trying to organize your thoughts, admit to yourself that you are an art student and use visual tools!

If you are just struggling with motivation, check out our tipsheet on that! Sometimes just remembering your dreams can help you get started again. 

And always, the SLC is on your side. Make an appointment and let us help!

Hey everyone, you all know that library databases are available on the student portal. Here is a quick list of what we offer. If you have any trouble accessing the databases from the portal, remember to allow pop-ups in your browser! If you are still having trouble, contact us at library@rmcad.edu.

JSTOR and ArtStor 

JSTOR is a research database primarily used for art history and the humanities. Artstor is a digital image library.

Berg Fashion Library. 

Coverage of world fashion including journal articles, ebooks, and images.

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts

170 ebooks in the applied visual arts. Great for photo, graphic design, drawing, and more. 

Building Green

Sustainable design resources for architecture and interior design – includes case studies and information about materials. 

EbscoHost (includes Art & Architecture Source, eBooks, and more)

Substantial research database for pretty much everything. 

Fairchild Books Interior Design Library

Fairchild Books Interior Design Library about 70 acclaimed textbooks and dedicated supplementary resources, to support interior design curriculum.

Films on Demand 

More than 30,000 of streaming educational films and documentaries

Kanopy

Movies and documentaries.

Music Online: Listening

Comprehensive streaming audio collection

Naxos Music Library

Streaming classical music

Stash Media

Online magazine that showcases exceptional motion design, visual effects, and animation projects. 

WGSN

Trend forecasting.  We subscribe to fashion and interior design, but don’t let that stop you. You want to know what colors will be popular in 2024, visit WGSN. Lots of lifestyle forecasting is included. 

The SLC consists of professional and peer tutors to assist with a wide range of topics from understanding assignments to navigating software and mentorship. Learn more about our tutors below!

Aria

Animation Tutor

• Perspective & Figure Drawing
• StoryBoard Pro
• ToonBoom & Harmony
• Adobe InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator
• Foundations

Aura

Game Art Tutor & Library Manager

• Game Art & 3D Animation
• Adobe Photoshop and Premiere Pro
• LMS and Computer Navigation
• Substance Painter & ZBrush
• Maya & Unreal Engine

Chloe J

Illustration, Focus in Concept Art.

• Foundations classes
• Drawing - Perspective, value, mark-making, and figure
• Color theory and painting

Dasha

Fashion Design Tutor

• Fashion Construction l - lll
• History of Fashion
• Draping
• Fashion Illustration
• Adobe Indesign, Illustrator and Procreate

Deb

Interior Design Tutor

• Revit, Sketchup & AutoCAD
• Time Management and Reading Strategies
• Adobe InDesign and Photoshop
• Financial Principles and Foundational Mathematics
• CMS and Citations

Emma

Writing Tutor

• Academic writing
• Creative writing
• CMOS (Chicago Manual of Style)
• Citations
• Liberal arts

Jenni

Graphic Design Tutor

• Foundations Classes
• Ideation, Process and Organization
• Software Navigation, Adobe Creative Suite, and Microsoft Office
• Fiber Art and Sculpting

Katharine

Interior Design Tutor

• Time Management
• Foundations
• Perspective Drawing
• Hand Rendering
• Basic Adobe
• Basic AutoCAD
• Beginner to Advanced Revit

Lauren

Interior Design Tutor CAD - Intermediate to Advanced, Interior Design, Revit - All Levels

• Interior Design
• Revit
• AutoCAD

Martha, MA, MLS.

Director of the Learning Commons

• I've got you covered on research
• I can answer questions with the best of them.
• LMS Navigation
• Foundations & Art History

Nathan

Music Tutor

• Music Production tutoring
• Writing about Music
• Music Theory and Musicianship tutoring

Ryan

Music Tutor

• ProTools
• Garage Band
• Music Theory & Writing

Make an appointment today!

Spring A has started! We hope everyone is feeling comfortable as the new term begins.

Let’s go over a few things:

The Learning Commons consists of the Student Learning Center (SLC) and Library. We are here to provide academic support. This means we can help with coursework, understanding assignments, providing feedback on your work, navigating software, and more.  

We want to help you to learn more effectively! Here are some tools to assist you:

1. Our library databases. These are all available through the portal, but you can get a glimpse at them here: https://rmcad.libguides.com/az/databases
   1. If you go to the portal and the links don’t work, check your popup blocker. You have to allow pop-ups. 99.99% of the time, that is the reason the databases don’t work. 
   2. The process for logging into EBSCOHost has changed. We've created a tip sheet to walk you through it.
2. Our SLC scheduler: https://rmcad.mywconline.com/
   1. You need to make an account, this is not automatic. Use your RMCAD email address and make up a password of your choosing. 
   2. Once you have an account you can choose your topic and find the person who can help. We meet on Google Meet, Zoom, or in person.
3. Our SLC Shared Drive: https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/folders/0AE5f5szuWpX6Uk9PVA
   1. This drive has all our tipsheets – we even have a spreadsheet with the tipsheets all linked!
4. Our YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@RmcadSLC
   1. This channel has helpful videos of all kinds, including how to access library resources. 

If you need further assistance or have questions, please email us at learning@rmcad.edu.

The SLC is a team made of professional and Peer Tutors.

We love to help, but it is more than just tutoring. We know the curriculum and we can help you contact your instructors. We can answer questions and clarify assignments. We can meet you in person or online. 

Some students like to meet with us just to have someone around while they do their work. Some students like to meet with us to get another set of eyes on their work. Some students like to talk through assignments and their cats are not good listeners. 

Here are some comments from other students:

My tutor was experienced and had an amazing understanding of the material i was trying to learn. she was so patient with me and answered all my questions. it was a great experience with a tutor. she is awesome to work with. id give her a 10 0ut of 10 stars if I could. I will be making an appointment to work on my current curriculum.

My tutor's ability to envision the future of my collection helped me move forward with my collection.

My tutor showed me several online resources that I did not realize were available to me. I am excited to check them out and use them in future work.

I was able to talk through what I needed help with and found a way that would suit my work style in order to get over my major issue with perfectionism.

We hope that you take advantage of us during the last week of Fall B. Please reach out to learning@rmcad.edu if you can't find a time that works at: https://rmcad.mywconline.com/