LibGuides: Fashion History: Home

Databases for Fashion

Access these through your student portal

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window

Historical Collections

The Fashion History Timeline
The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe.
The Costume Institute at the Met
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Fashion Collection at LACMA
Fashion Collection at the V&A
Spanning five centuries, our Fashion Collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s evening wear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.
The Collections at the Louvre
The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix.
Paris Museum Collections
The collections of the city of Paris museums.

Other useful guides

College 101: An Academic Success Guide
by Martha Neth Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 110 views this year
Fashion Design
by Martha Neth Last Updated Jan 17, 2024 472 views this year
Hugh Thurlow Memorial Library
by Martha Neth Last Updated Jan 17, 2024 367 views this year
Student Learning Center (SLC)
by Martha Neth Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 870 views this year

Available through Ebsco

Visit the student portal to access these resources:

Peter McNeil. A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion in the Age of Enlightenment. A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion. London: Bloomsbury Visual Arts, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2000078&site=ehost-live.

Cole, Daniel James, and Nancy Deihl. The History of Modern Fashion From 1850. London: Laurence King Publishing, 2015. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1077603&site=ehost-live.

Fashion History

Databases for Fashion

Historical Collections

Other useful guides

Available through Ebsco

Videos