Art History

Has remarkable collection that spans over two million years of human history and culture. This museum’s collection has some of everything!

The Center for Visual Art (CVA) is the off-campus art gallery of Metropolitan State University of Denver.

China Online Museum primarily focuses on Chinese bronzes, calligraphy, painting, ceramics, jade and carving.

The Clyfford Still museum is a one of a kind exploration of one artist's life and process.

Search the collection of the DAM.

The collection of the J. Paul Getty Museum comprises Greek, Roman, and Etruscan art from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity; European art—including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts—from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century; and international photography from its inception to the present day.

An internationally renowned art museum and one of the most significant architectural icons of the 20th century, the Guggenheim Museum in New York. Visitors can experience special exhibitions of modern and contemporary art.

LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of more than 142,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe. Committed to showcasing a multitude of art histories.

Has a collection that spans work from ancient civilizations to the mid-19th century.

The National Museum of Art preserves, exhibits, studies and transmits Mexican works of art produced between the second half of the XVI century and 1954, thus offering a global and synthesized vision of Mexican Art from this period.

European art spanning from 1200-1930.

Modern art museum housing works from Cubism, Futurism, Surrealism, Abstract Expressionism, etc.

The Royal Ontario Museum is home to a world-class collection of 13 million artworks, cultural objects, and natural history specimens, featured in 40 gallery and exhibition spaces.

These images document the icons at Sinai.

Pre-Modern European visual culture (interior design and fashion).

More than 2,000 artworks from all the major cultures of Asia.

As Mumbai’s first Museum, it showcases the city’s cultural heritage and history through a rare collection of Fine and Decorative Arts that highlight Early Modern Art practices as well as the craftsmanship of various communities of the Bombay Presidency. The permanent collection includes miniature clay models, dioramas, maps, lithographs, photographs, and rare books that document the life of the people of Mumbai and the history of the city from the late eighteenth to early-twentieth centuries.

Here you will find in-depth information about the Caravans of Gold exhibition, including images and information about key objects and artworks from the exhibition, interviews with experts, and resources to support teaching and learning.

This is one of the premier art and history museum in India. CSMVS houses about 50,000 artifacts and has an outstanding collection comprising of sculptures, terracotta’s, bronzes, excavated artifacts from the Harappan sites, Indian miniature paintings, European paintings, porcelain and ivories from China and Japan, etc.

The Cleveland Museum of Art offers dynamic experiences that illuminate the power and enduring relevance of art in today’s global society.

Houses American paintings, sculptures, and decorative arts; modern and contemporary art; art from Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; and textile arts—reflect an active conversation among cultures, perspectives, and time periods.

An art collection of over 17,000 items, representing the unique cultural legacy of Hong Kong's connection across the globe. From old to new, Chinese to Western, local to international, this is a refreshing way of looking at tradition and making art relevant to everyone, creating new experiences and understanding.

This museum invites visitors to discover the Arab world from a different perspective and goes beyond stereotypes, by presenting all the diversity of its cultures, ethnicities, languages, and confessions, from its origins to the present day.

An open museum where traditional art, embodying the beauty of Korea and contemporary art, representing the energy of our times, and international art, reflecting current values coexist

The Mori Art Museum has been engaged in the acquisition of contemporary art works primarily from Japan and the Asia-Pacific region, amassing a total of over 400 works (as of March 2019) in a diverse range of media, including painting, photography, drawing, sculpture, video and installation.

The museum houses more than 110,000 pieces of various collections, most of which are representative works of different periods and great artworks of Chinese art masters from ancient times till today, constituting art development history since the beginning of modern China. Collections also include some ancient paintings and calligraphy works, foreign artistic works as well as plentiful folk art works.

PEM collection offers outstanding works primarily from the 1700s to today: paintings, sculptures, photographs, drawings, textiles, architecture and decorative objects. Our African, American, Asian, maritime, Native American and Oceanic art emphasizes the lively conversation that occurs through creativity across time, place and culture.

Founded by María Inés Sicardi in 1994, Sicardi Gallery was among the very first in the United States to represent avant-garde and contemporary artists from Latin America.

At the National Museum of African Art we inspire conversations about the beauty, power, and diversity of African arts and cultures worldwide.