Triboro News

Yes we have DnD books!  This is just a selection. Come by the library for more!

Dungeons and Dragons Player's Handbook (Core Rulebook, d&d Roleplaying Game) by Dungeons & Dragons

ISBN: 9780786965601

Publication Date: 2014-08-19

Create heroic characters for the world's greatest roleplaying game.   The Player's Handbook is the essential reference for every Dungeons & Dragons roleplayer. It contains rules for character creation and advancement, backgrounds and skills, exploration and combat, equipment, spells, and much more. Use this book to create characters from among the most iconic D&D races and classes.   Publisher's Weekly #1 Best Seller in Hardcover Nonfiction Wall Street Journal #1 Best Seller in Hardcover Nonfiction   * In Dungeons & Dragons, you and your friends coauthor your own legend. Guided by a Dungeon Master, you create characters and play their roles in a story, rolling dice and navigating maps as you unfold a tale as limitless as your imagination.   * The Player's Handbook is the first of three D&D core rulebooks, along with the Monster Manual and the Dungeon Master's Guide. The Player's Handbook is the cornerstone. It's the foundational text of D&D's fifth edition--for beginners and for veterans alike.   * The Player's Handbook walks you through how to create a Dungeons & Dragons character--the role you'll play in the D&D world.   * Dungeons & Dragons is the world's greatest roleplaying game. Created in 1974, D&D transformed gaming culture by blending traditional fantasy with miniatures and wargaming.9780786966011

 

Volo's Guide to Monsters by Dungeons & Dragons

ISBN: 9780786966011

Publication Date: 2016-11-15

Immerse yourself in monster lore in this supplement for the world's greatest roleplaying game   This is NOT just another Monster Manual! Volo's Guide to Monsters provides something exciting for players and Dungeon Masters everywhere. · A deep dive into the lore behind some of D&D's most popular and iconic monsters · Dozens of monsters new to the fifth edition to include in your epic adventures · New playable races to allow you to build characters to fit nearly any type of story in your D&D game.   The esteemed loremaster Volothamp Geddarm is back and he's written a fantastical dissertation, covering some of the most iconic monsters in the Forgotten Realms. Unfortunately, the Sage of Shadowdale himself, Elminster, doesn't believe Volo gets some of the important details quite right. Don't miss out as Volo and Elminster square off (academically speaking of course) to illuminate the uninitiated on creatures both common and obscure. Uncover the machinations of the mysterious Kraken Society, what is the origin of the bizarre froghemoth, or how to avoid participating in the ghastly reproductive cycle of the grotesque vargouille.  Dungeon Masters and players will get some much-needed guidance as you plan your next venture, traipsing about some dusty old ruin in search of treasure, lore, and let's not forget ... dangerous creatures whose horns, claws, fangs, heads, or even hides might comfortably adorn the walls of your trophy room. If you survive.   Research has never been so dangerous!

 

Dungeons and Dragons Art and Arcana by Michael Witwer; Kyle Newman; Jon Peterson; Sam Witwer; Joe Manganiello (Foreword by); Official Dungeons & Dragons Licensed

ISBN: 9780399580949

Publication Date: 2018-10-23

An illustrated guide to the history and evolution of the beloved role-playing game told through the paintings, sketches, illustrations, and visual ephemera behind its creation, growth, and continued popularity. FINALIST FOR THE HUGO AWARD . FINALIST FOR THE LOCUS AWARD . NOMINATED FOR THE DIANA JONES AWARD From one of the most iconic game brands in the world, this official DUNGEONS & DRAGONS illustrated history provides an unprecedented look at the visual evolution of the brand, showing its continued influence on the worlds of pop culture and fantasy. Inside the book, you'll find more than seven hundred pieces of artwork-from each edition of the core role-playing books, supplements, and adventures; as well as Forgotten Realms and Dragonlance novels; decades ofDragonandDungeonmagazines; and classic advertisements and merchandise; plus never-before-seen sketches, large-format canvases, rare photographs, one-of-a-kind drafts, and more from the now-famous designers and artists associated with DUNGEONS & DRAGONS. The superstar author team gained unparalleled access to the archives of Wizards of the Coastandthe personal collections of top collectors, as well as the designers and illustrators who created the distinctive characters, concepts, and visuals that have defined fantasy art and gameplay for generations. This is the most comprehensive collection of D&D imagery ever assembled, making this the ultimate collectible for the game's millions of fans around the world.

 

Dungeons and Dragons Dungeon Master's Guide (Core Rulebook, d&d Roleplaying Game) by Dungeons & Dragons

ISBN: 9780786965625

Publication Date: 2014-12-09

Weave legendary stories in the world's greatest roleplaying game.   All you need to run a Dungeons & Dragons game is your imagination, some dice, and this book. The Dungeon Master's Guide teaches you how to how to run D&D adventures for your players-- how to invent monsters for them to fight, mysteries for them to solve, and fantasy worlds for them to explore.   "[The Dungeon Master's Guide is] the one book to rule them all, the most comprehensive and powerful set of resources needed to run a game of D&D. . ." --Charlie Hall, Polygon.com   "D&D acolytes are everywhere...Tech workers from Silicon Valley to Brooklyn have long-running campaigns, and the showrunners and the novelist behind 'Game of Thrones' have all been Dungeon Masters."--Neima Jahromi, The New Yorker   * The Dungeon Master's Guide is one of the three main Dungeons & Dragons books, along with the Player's Handbook and Monster Manual. It's a reference used by the Dungeon Master (the game's narrator) to create adventures--to run Dungeons & Dragons games and fill them with characters and stories.   * The Dungeon Master's Guide (DMG) is full of tools to help you immerse players in the game. What's the demon lord's secret weakness? Are the orcish invaders a criminal enterprise, or traitorous allies? Dozens of tables throughout the book help inspire your decisions and keep the game flowing smoothly.   * In the Dungeon Master's Guide (DMG), even the tables tell tales. A legendary sword takes five decades to craft. Who created it, and why? A tavern-crawling gnome has an eye twitch. How did she get it, and when? In every detail is an architecture for narrative--and the Dungeon Master's Guide has all the tools you need to flesh it out with ease.   * In Dungeons & Dragons, you and your friends coauthor your own legend. Guided by a Dungeon Master, you create characters and play their roles in a story, rolling dice and navigating maps as you unfold a tale as limitless as your imagination.   * Dungeons & Dragons is the world's greatest roleplaying game. Created in 1974, D&D transformed gaming culture by blending traditional fantasy with miniatures and wargaming.

 

Fizban's Treasury of Dragons (Dungeon and Dragons Book) by Dungeons & Dragons

ISBN: 9780786967292

Publication Date: 2021-10-26

Discover everything there is to know about dragons--the most iconic of D&D monsters--in this quintessential reference guide.   Meet Fizban the Fabulous: doddering archmage, unlikely war hero, divine avatar of a dragon-god--and your guide to the mysteries of dragonkind.   What is the difference between a red dragon and a gold dragon? What is dragonsight? How does a dragon's magic impact the world around them? This comprehensive guide provides Dungeon Masters with a rich hoard of tools and information for designing dragon-themed encounters, adventures, and campaigns. Dragonslayers and dragon scholars alike will also appreciate its insight into harnessing the power of dragon magic and options for players to create unique, memorable draconic characters.   Introduces gem dragons to fifth edition! Provides Dungeon Masters with tools to craft adventures inspired by dragons, including dragon lair maps and detailed information about 20 different types of dragons Adds player character options, including dragon-themed subclasses for monks and rangers, unique draconic ancestries for dragonborn, additional spell options, and a feat Presents a complete dragon bestiary and introduces a variety of dragons and dragon-related creatures--including aspects of the dragon gods, dragon minions, and more Reveals the story of the First World and the role the dragon gods Bahamut and Tiamat played in its creation and destruction  

Part II Written in collaboration by Zach Mick and Katharine Novak

Why are there no industry lead magazines for the fashion industry?

Where do you get your fashion news? Historically magazines have played a big role in spreading news and advice for not only daily life but for industry professionals. But when thinking about the fashion field there is a lack of these industry perspective resources. Sure there are plenty of fashion magazines like Vogue and Vanity Fair. However, these publications are clearly consumer driven, displaying current trends and styles one can purchase.

Other industry magazines

• Interior Design
• Metropolitan
• Animation
• Juxtapoz 

But does there even need to be a fashion professionals' magazine?

I would argue yes! As designers progress in their careers it becomes crucial for them to retain an appreciation for the diverse range of styles and methodologies in the creation process.One way to keep one’s finger on the pulse of the field is through industry lead magazines. Utilizing a physical medium along with the many other forms of resources available now-a-days, allows for diversity in one’s referential library. From an interior design point of view it is very useful to have such references especially after you get out of school and you may not network and research your industry in the same way. This is a way to be inspired by your predecessors and keep up on your peers.

What would an industry magazine for fashion look like?

For those seeking the professional perspective, a fashion industry magazine would provide articles that dissect current trends, spotlight designers, diving into their creative process, and discuss the idea of creativity as a skill. The overarching goal of this magazine would be to provide a reprieve from one’s own creation methodology.

Historical Fashion Magazines

The first that reported about the fashion industry was Le Mercure Galant, in 1672, which published news about clothing, luxury goods and court life. In the 19th century, publications like Harper’s Bazaar, Cosmopolitan, and American Vogue first made their appearance and by the 1940s Elle and Glamour were also available to readers. When reviewing the long history of fashion magazines, the common thread was an orientation to the customer. None of these resources were written by professionals for professionals, but rather to keep individuals not immersed in the industry up-to-date with the current trends. Seeing as this continues today, it would be exciting to see what a professional fashion magazine could provide.

Other resources available 

WGSN/trends; A source that provides these kinds of insight would be a supplement to the current professional resources used in the industry. Databases like WGSN provide great studies that predict future trends and styles, constantly looking towards the future.

Other examples of industry resources

• ASID- Interior Design
• AIGA- Graphic Design
• AWN- Animation

Industry Professional Practices

• Seminars
  • The BoF Professional Summit: New Frontiers: AI, Digital Culture and Virtual Worlds
  • The National Career Exhibition x FashionUnited: Work in Fashion
• Society/professional club
  • Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA)
  • United States Fashion Industry Association (USFIA)
• Trade shows
  • L.A. Textile Show
  • International Fashion Jewelry and Accessories Trade Show

The SLC has a number of peer tutors across many departments. The benefit of peer tutors is that they more recently taken classes that you might be struggling with. They have ideas about how to succeed because they are so close to the material. They also are currently experiencing the difficulties of being a student and trying to have a life at the same time. We give peer tutors a lot of information about how to work with fellow students. You can schedule with any of the tutors, peer or professional, here. 

Aria - 2D animation and Illustration

Chloe - Illustration

Zach - Fashion (coming soon!)

Ryan - Music Production

Taylor - Photography

All these tutors can help with foundation classes as well, and many can help with liberal arts classes.

Make an appointment today!

Spring B is often a challenging term. Students who started in January are feeling a little run down. The college environment can present unique challenges, including navigating new social dynamics and academic pressures. It's vital to create a balanced schedule that allows for study, socializing, and self-care. Recognizing when you're pushing yourself too hard and allowing time for rest and recovery is crucial. It's not uncommon for students to experience stress-induced symptoms like headaches, fatigue, sleep disturbances, or even more severe health issues when ignoring their body's needs.

You might benefit from the suggestions in our tipsheet on Stress Management

Breathe
Breathing is a powerful stress reliever. Easy and portable, your breath is always something you can turn to in
times of worry.

• Gently push all the air out of your lungs first, especially if your breathing is fast or shallow.
• Take three deep breaths, slowly and deliberately.
• Do diaphragmatic breathing (the best kind) by pushing your belly out as you inhale (practice this when you’re not under acute stress). This will fill the bottom part of your lungs, allowing for a truly deep breath.

The 4 - 7 - 8 (or relaxing breath) exercise
Although you can do this exercise in any position, sit with your back straight while learning the exercise. Place
the tip of your tongue against the ridge of tissue just behind your upper front teeth, and keep it there through
the entire exercise. You will be exhaling through your mouth around your tongue; try pursing your lips slightly
if this seems awkward.

• Exhale completely though your mouth making a whoosh sound.
• Close your mouth and inhale quietly through your nose to a mental count of four.
• Hold your breath for a count of seven.
• Exhale completely through your mouth, making a whoosh sound to a count of eight. This is one breath.
• Now inhale again and repeat the cycle three more times for a total of four breaths.

And don't forget to make an appointment with the SLC if you need more support!